The Lordship of Houchenée is already mentioned in 1316. In 1711, its area was about 150 bonniers, or 130 Ha. The Abbey of Saint-Jacques de Liege had a half-fee since 1415 and held until the French Revolution. It is known that the manor was sold in 1711 to Jacques de Bare by the Geloes Barons. At the death of the last de Baré, the property was acquired about 1813 by Baron Louis-Guillaume de Moffarts. The descendants of this family put the property up for sale and it was acquired in 1961 by Jean de Volder. His widow, born Baroness van der Straeten-Waillet resides there now.